Made For This- Sometimes it takes thinking that you’re not to find that you are

In the weeks prior to the book release I had several interviews.  I often walked away feeling complete exhaustion on every level (emotional, physical and mental).  I knew God was with me and that he was helping me, but sometimes I wasn’t sure that I could endure another question.  I asked God if he was sure about all of this.

Interviews are a totally new place for me; it was a challenge unlike anything I’ve known before, and I had to find my way through it.  I’m thankful for the amazing people who have surrounded me in this part of my journey.  They’ve offered encouragement, advice and tangible support.  I see God’s love through them.  I’m grateful for the way he shows his strength in my weakness.

Let me explain~

I questioned myself a lot, I evaluated my response, and I prayed over my doubts.  I have a tendency to psych myself out, but I know that Jesus believes in me.  He has confidence in my ability to represent him or I wouldn’t be in this position.  I reminded myself continually that he loves me and he is helping me.  God was giving me the answers.  Psalm 45:1 says, “My tongue is the pen of a skillful writer”.  I had an answer for every question—a good answer—a God answer.

I was made for this!

The internal examination brought truth to light.  It’s not that I was made for the struggle, but I am made for the victory.  Jesus has forged something within me for this precise moment, and all I have to do is release it.  He helped me to look at the interviews differently.  They weren’t pop quizzes that I couldn’t prepare for; they were simple conversations.  Each question brought an opportunity to share God’s light and love in a new way.  This understanding gave me hope and filled me with peace.

I took that peace to NYC, but I still had to practice it.  I had to stand on the promise of his provision.  Sometimes as I sat in the chair with the microphone fastened to my collar, I could feel my heart pound.   The rhythm seemed so loud that I wondered if it came through the audio recording.  My body was on high alert, anticipating the questions that would follow and wondering if I would be able to give the best response capable of pointing the way to Jesus.  I would take a deep breath and remind myself that it was simply about me giving what I’ve received: love, hope, strength, joy, and peace that comes when I’m connected to the heart of God.

Last week God showed me, over and over again, that I could rise above every challenge.  Through him, I find and bring redemption.  And so do you!  Don’t count yourself out.  Don’t doubt the strength that he will bring forth in the midst of your weakness.  You were made for this!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolina Petersheim
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 16:53:05

    Beautiful, Marie; we can truly do all things through Him! You ARE made for this, sister; keep on pressing on! Much love, jo

    Reply

  2. Jennie
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 17:37:54

    Marie, you are a true testimony to the grace of God. Without the grace of God, we are inadequate. With His grace, we are more than conquerors! Look at Moses and how God used him even though he didn’t think he ‘fit the bill’ to deliver the Israelites out of the hands of the Egyptians. God saw all that He had deposited into His son, and knew that with the Lord, Moses COULD do the impossible. Amazing.

    Oh dear friend, how He loves us. I am so grateful to see Him moving freely in you to deliver His GOOD news of redemption and love! 🙂

    Reply

  3. LindaHubert
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 18:40:41

    I loved your interview on Katie. Your courage is beyond what I could do if I didn’t have The Lord in my heart. I wish you the best of everything for your family. I wi be reading your book as soon as I can find it. Thank you so much for writing it. Yours in Christ, Linda Hubert

    Reply

  4. Arabah Joy (@ArabahJoy)
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 23:24:47

    Hi Marie, I found your blog through your book, which I found through Zondervan’s newsletter. I don’t often purchase books full price anymore but I did yours. Not only was I captivated by your story and your use of words, I sensed the Holy Spirit Himself giving voice to a message through you. I don’t know you, but I believe in you. Carry your light up the hill, sister. Be the savory presence of Christ, the aroma of grace in every place you go. I’m praying for you and know the Lord will guide you continually, will give strength to your bones and will satisfy your dry places. May He be lifted high and exalted through your life, your story, and your labor. A sister in Christ, Arabah Joy {www.arabahjoy.com}

    Reply

  5. Cricket Corelli
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 20:08:27

    Just finished your book. Many tears as I read your love story. Your book helped me rest in a loss I experienced in my life. I also recall the presence of God being so powerful in my greatest need…I often say I could feel His breath on the back of my neck as His loving arms embraced me so close. He is my light and hope. Thank you so much for sharing how our heavenly Father brought beauty from ashes! May He continue to bless you and your family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

